vanilla glazed mini-cinna scones

these are kind of like i’m-sorry-scones, for abandoning you the last week. but I thought vanilla glazed mini-cinna scones sounded cuter.

I was in Germany, busy dealing with this.

so can you blame me?

but seriously.

go preheat the oven.

I made these for my intern (tomorrow is her last day, boo) but I think they’re going to make a somewhat regular appearance in my kitchen because they are so. silly. delicious.

mini-cinna scones with vanilla glaze

Scones:

3 1/2 cups flour

1/3 cup sugar

1/3 cup brown sugar

2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

3/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

3/4 cups butter, room temperature

1 cup buttermilk

3 tsp vanilla

Glaze:

1 1/2 cups confectioner sugar

1/4 cup whole milk

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

dash of cinnamon

Preheat oven to 425.

In large bowl, combine dry ingredients. Peel the stick of butter with a knife into thin layers (like a carrot, but more fun) and knead into the dry mixture. Add vanilla and buttermilk.

Divide into four and pat into 5 inch round circles. Then cut up into triangles, or really, whatever shape you’d like. Go crazy.

Brush a teensy layer of melted butter over the surface of the scones and sprinkle sugar on top.

Bake for 15-17 minutes.

I think I hear your oven beeping.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to vanilla glazed mini-cinna scones

  1. Bridget says:

    Yum! I want that pretzel! And scone. I’m going to trying those next week. Heard they were a big hit!

  2. Joni says:

    These will definitely make my Sunday brunch menu list. Hope you had a good time in Germany — did you come back with any more recipes?

Leave a Reply

