better-than-s’mores cookies

Last night, one of my friends was talking to me about how she just wanted a real-life backyard, a little more space than a seat on the subway or an unfinished-but-manageable tar roof. Basically, she’s itching to get out of New York. I was thinking about it a lot today, and I think was I miss most is a grill. When I’m home, there can be 5 inches of snow on the ground and I’m coaxing my dad to grill. I just think everything tastes better on a grill.
But really, by everything, I mean marshmallows.
And by marshmallows, I mean s’mores.
There is nothing I love more than s’mores. I love the act of grilling them, I love assembling them, I even love the the burnt aftertaste.
So what’s a girl to do with no backyard, let alone a grill?
Make these.
I think it’s a fluke they turned out so well as I kind of just blacked out throwing ingredients together, but I’ll take it. They’re pillowy and gooey taste EXACTLY like a s’more.

better-than-s’mores cookies

1/3 cup sugar

1/3 cup brown sugar
1/3 cup earth balance (or butter if you want)
2 egg whites
1 tablespoon vanilla
1 tsp baking powder
2/3 cup flour
2/3 cup graham cracker crumbs
1 cup mini marshmallows
1/2 cup chocolate chips
Preheat the oven to 375. In a large bowl, combine both sugars and earth balance and mix well. Beat in egg whites and vanilla. Mix in the flour and baking powder next, then the graham cracker crumbs. After everything is well-mixed, hand stir the marshmallows and chocolate chips in.
Bake for 10-12 minutes or until the marshmallows look tinged (or like they’re going to explode, basically). The insides will still be gooey, so you can let them cool for 10 minutes and they’ll firm up if semi-undercooked dough isn’t your thing. (Read: I’m trying not to judge you and therefore giving the option, but you should be eating right out of the oven.)
Who needs you, George Foreman?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to better-than-s’mores cookies

Leave a Reply

